Is it possible to take a picture of something, and print to scale?

DadOfThree

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Folks,

I'm not an expert in the field of photography, but found this forum thinking I could maybe get some advice.

Here's what I'm trying to figure out. I've put my home up for sale and will be moving out soon. I have an area in the house that we used to measure the kids growing up. It's on sheetrock that I can't take off the wall without destroying it.

Is it possible to somehow take a picture of it, and have printed to scale? It’s about, 1 foot wide and about 5 feet tall. My thought was, if I can't take it with me, then I can at least try to simulate the memory.

Any advice?

Last edited:
Yes look at your spellings.... a 1 foot wife..... I see a slap heading your way...
Take lots of photos of the height mark. Some of all of it others in 30 cm/1foot sections. Have a standard rule or tape rule in the pic one set with tape rule one without
Then either take pics to a print shop or print at home using images with tape inane size re size until you get the correct size the rule in the image matches the tape/rule
Then you can resize the pics without the rule in ....
that’s the only I can think of at the moment

Any advice?
You probably can get a large print made of the wall, but if you have not actually sold the house yet, get a drywall contractor to cut out that section and repair the wall. Paint the room afterward. Since I've done drywall, that is how I would do it.

To photograph the wall, get back as far as you can, and use the longest lens that will get the entire section in the frame. You want even, flat light, without any glare. Take the file to your local Staples or whatever place that will do large prints. Frame for hanging.

Above are both good option.

May I suggest on the next house paint a piece of trim and attach it to the wall/doorway. Then you can remove it with minimal repairs.