Seeking tips for vintage look photo on Sony A6000

ad20126

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a beginner with the Sony A6000 and I want to shoot JPGs (without or with minimal post-processing) that have a vintage look. Does anyone know how to achieve this? What settings should I use, like white balance, creative style, etc.? Thanks a lot!

The example below is a photo I took, and the second one is after I used a filter in an app to change the colors. I'm not sure if it's vintage, but I like that color tone. Can we achieve such photos directly from the camera?

Attachments

• after.jpg
    after.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 9
  • before.jpg
    before.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Hi everyone. I'm a beginner with the Sony A6000 and I want to shoot JPGs (without or with minimal post-processing) that have a vintage look. Does anyone know how to achieve this? What settings should I use, like white balance, creative style, etc.? Thanks a lot!
Do you have an example of the look you're wanting to emulate? "Vintage" can mean different things.

Editing software and plug-ins deliver the "look." As noted, examples of what you're after would help. Usually in-camera processing is quite limited compared to what's possible in post with RAW files.

Editing software and plug-ins deliver the "look." As noted, examples of what you're after would help. Usually in-camera processing is quite limited compared to what's possible in post with RAW files.
I just added an example to the post.

Using jpeg and attempting to get a specific look straight out of camera is challenging with a camera that won't accept LUTs. You do have some adjustments in there, like sharpness, contrast, brightness, etc.