Swap Drone's battery autonomously?

Is this idea something worth pursuing? :)

• Great idea!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Nah, this is stupid

Votes: 2 66.7%
  • Hmm interesting but not sure how useful it is

Votes: 1 33.3%

• Total voters

dean805

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm very new to drone photography. I got interested in this as I was trying to use my DJI Matrice 100 to film my sister's wedding. It was astonish to me that the drone can only fly for ~25-30 mins before it has to come down and swap the battery.

As an engineer, one thought that came to my mind is to develop an autonomous battery swap station; which I can set the station on one side, set the drone into autopilot mode which it can land and swap battery when the battery runs out? This way, would it be like having a second wedding photographer? :)

What do you guys think? Is this idea something worth pursuing? :)

It is all about compromise.

Battery capacity is directly related to weight.
More capacity = more weight.
More weight = less lifting capacity and less flight time. So a 2x battery capacity is less than 2x flight time.

Bigger drone/quad, larger battery, longer flight time = more expensive.

No.
The problem is the battery compartment has to be easily accessible, including opening and closing the compartment door, the battery has to be easily removed and installed, the battery contacts need to be such that it will make contact simply by sliding the battery in.
IOW this has to be designed in by the manufacturer. I likely would be difficult to retro fit the battery.
IF you are lucky, the manufacturer may have designed the drone such that it might be possible to retrofit the battery.

Second item is cooling.
Will the motors take being run for significantly more than 30 minutes?
I recall reading that some coaxial and quads needed rest time to let the motors cool down.
You need to research the duty cycle of the motors in the drone.