fwellers

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.fwellers.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I am new to photography, actually just gathering info for my first SLR camera purchase ( which I hope will be within the next couple of months ).
I've been reading my butt off, and talking to people, so I have enough knowledge now, to really ask stupid questions.
But first, the basics.
I'm planning on getting a Nikon D90. I want to use it for general purpose photography, a little of everything. I want to learn to become artistic with my photos. I like natural light and am not as interested in using flash. So I think I need a faster lense, especially since I don't have the steadiest hand.

So, thinking about and reading about all the prosumer type lenses, I'm currently thinking about getting a zoom, maybe 16-85 afs with the vr2, but also am thinking about a fast prime, like the 50mm 1.8 or something.

Ok stupid question 1)
I read somewhere that a 50mm lense is the closest to being what your eyes see without the camera. Is that true ? And if it is, would that be meaning on a FX camera ? If so, then it would be somewhat less of a focal length needed for the same thing on a DX camera ?
Any insights here ?

2)
For my scattered description of the type of photography I want to do, does my lense choices seem correct or do you have any further advice of lenses ? btw, my budget won't be that big. The camera would be almost $1k, and I was hoping to spend less than that on the lense(s).

Thanks !!

Floyd

1) exactly. You need to divide the focal length by the crop factor. Sigma make a 30mm f/1.4 which suits the bill nicely.

2) As a start this is perfect. It's pretty much how everyone starts without a very specific mind set (like macro, or sports). A versatile zoom, and a 50mm or 30mm large aperture lens.