Anyone change careers?

Winona

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, looking for real life stories as I re-examine my career choice and help my kids choose. Has anyone drastically changed careers? What career did you have and then change to and why? Any regrets?

I was a veterinary technician and worked at both animal hospitals and a zoo. It was a lot of fun, but very little $. I then went into nursing and became a nurse practitioner. I do like my job and love the $, but my love is still animals and nature and feel I have very little time for either. I hate sitting in an office all day and my back is feeling the effects. Looking to retire early.

I started working a a Camera store in my late teens after leaving High School. I never made it to University due to life choices that I erroneously made, so I never did pursue the goals that I had laid out for myself.
I landed a job as a salesperson for a camera store. I worked for that photo company for 10+ years, and eventually made it up the chain to managing one of their prime stores ... but this is not what I liked to do, as I was best (and happiest) in product procurement ... it was the money that made me do it. Anyway, I got tired of managing people so I fired myself ... I told them I wanted to be demoted to a part-time salesperson.
I went back to school part-time to study computer programming ... which was something I was doing at school before all of this (and also was still playing around with at home). I did land a job doing technical support for a network/communication hardware manufacturer ... and I still work for them today (though not doing exactly that job).
Again I did go up the money chain and work for the Sales group, but I am not happy with that ... my best (happiest) skills are in "fixing" things, physical or logical. I am lucky that due to my experience, I do enough work with our Engineering group to keep me staying.