Polarizing Filter in Mountains?

William Baroo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Is a polarizing filter a good idea for outdoor photos and videos in mountainous areas? I hope to be in the alps next month.

Is a polarizing filter a good idea for outdoor photos and videos in mountainous areas? I hope to be in the alps next month.
Very good for removing reflection off of water, making clouds pop, and adding color to autumn leaves and foliage. It's useful if you're talking bright days with no clouds (ie: direct sunlight). You'd have to stack multiple CPLs if you wanted to use them to reduce light to shoot long exposures (say...a river) in daylight. Personally, while I love my CPLs, I don't use them in the mountains or just outdoors. It is either seasonal (fall) or when I am shooting a lot of clouds.

I'm studying up on this. It sort of looks like the glare reduction is the big benefit and the other stuff can be fixed with Photoshop.

I'm studying up on this. It sort of looks like the glare reduction is the big benefit and the other stuff can be fixed with Photoshop.

Again yes/no/maybe. If you looked at the link I posted, polarizers don't do much if it's overcast, and the maximum effect is when the sun/light is at 90 degrees. That can create problems if the sun is coming in from one side or the other, as it creates an uneven looking sky.

I find square graduated filters in a Conkin style holder work better for landscape. Stacking multiple filters gives infinite adjustment for tricky dynamic range shots.

I've only used polarizer filters in the studio shooting products and art works for reproduction. Never tried them in landscapes and such. Tried them on autos, they did cut the glare off the chrome, but made checkerboard patterns in the windows.

They are a bit tricky to figure out what they will or won't do for you.