Need a Smaller/Lighter Camera for Travel

~Ocho1~

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Everyone,

So as the title says, I'm looking for a smaller/lighter set up than what I have now for when we travel.

Recently took a trip to San Diego where some days we walked over 12 miles. Carrying my D780 w/85mm lens got to me, by the end of the day it felt like I had a toddler hanging off my shoulder. By the end of the trip I seriously just wanted to get back to the hotel & drop off the camera.

Been reading a lot about the Fujifilm X-T5 & actually handled one the other day & I liked it. I know it's a crop sensor, as opposed to the full frame I have now, but I feel I can live with the trade off (I use to shoot with a D5100 before the D780)

The OM System OM-5 is another one which I've considered, as it's substantially smaller than my D780, but still not convinced on the Micro 4/3 sensors.

I'm not a pro photographer, just a dude that likes to take pictures. My main photography when we travel is street, architecture & some landscape (it all depends on the trip we're taking). But basically looking for something I can carry around all day & not be hating it by the end of the day, haha.

So I would love to hear your opinions. Has anyone been shooting with an X-T5 for a while & how do you like it? How about an OM-5?

Pros/cons?

Thanks in advance.

Obligatory photos from trip.....

San Diego_2.jpg

San Diego_1.jpg

San Diego_4.jpg

San Diego_3.jpg

The X-T5 is my travel camera and for nature walks. I generally take the 35 & the 56 on vacation. Very light weight with the 35. I just picked up the 23 and will take that the next trip. The X-T5 is 40mp and I can crop fairly tight.

Try to find an X-T5 bundled with the superb 18-55/2.8-4 at the sometimes offered "kit" price. Great travel outfit.

But basically looking for something I can carry around all day & not be hating it by the end of the day, haha.