Star trails technique

Stormchase

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I hope this is an OK place to post this question. I am new to astrophotography. I have seen a certain style and was wondering how it might be achieved. I was thinking a zoom pull with fast glass and an extremely strudy tripod? 3 or more layers? What would you thing would be a way to achieve this effect.
Thanks

star trails harrison - Google Search

Just realized the link wasn't exact. It's the second pic for me. Like the stars are exploding from the center. Not the circular trails...

Haha I thought about it but felt odd. I like different outlooks on thing here as well. I might tho.

Last edited:
Zoom Burst
so would that be like i was thinking? cool, i might play around with it
Of sorts. You can do it in post. It's on my list of things to try in the field if we ever get a clear night that doesn't have a bright moon..lol. There are a few good articles and videos that will walk you through it if you're so inclined.

The colors are, of course, heavily saturated (and there are some techniques to go beyond what can be done through normal saturation -- I don't know what techniques this photographer may have used.) One of my favorites is a technique where you extract the luminance channel from the image and then drop it into the image as a saturation. The result is that the more luminous the object... the stronger the saturation.

As for the 'zoom' effect. Most zoom lenses are not "parfocal" meaning that as you zoom them, what "was" in focus at one focal length will no longer be focused at the new zoomed focal length. But it turns out there are _some_ lenses that technically qualify as "parfocal" (the focus remains regardless of zoom.)