I'm now a novice view-camera user...

JamesD

Between darkrooms
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
It looks like I'm going to join the ranks of large format photographers. Got a used Toyo 45CX... it'll probably be home before I am.

Can anyone recommend some good technical reading material for view cameras? I (think I) know the basics, but I've never researched too deeply into it because I haven't had the camera to play with.

On a side note: it's amazing what one can afford when one puts one's mind to it. Sheesh...

There are plenty of books here are couple of decent ones:

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Camera-Technique-Seventh-Leslie-Stroebel/dp/0240803450/ref=pd_bbs_1/104-9079996-2571115?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1175296502&sr=8-1"]View Camera Technique, [/ame]by Leslie Stroebel
[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Using-View-Camera-Steve-Simmons/dp/0817463534/ref=pd_bbs_2/104-9079996-2571115?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1175296502&sr=8-2"]Using the View Camera[/ame] by Steve Simmons

Also, there is ViewCamera magazine, not a bad rag overall.

A google search will provide plenty to go through as well as
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Good luck and welcome to LF.
JC

Congrats!! :D I am so excited for you. Can't wait till you are able to start playing with the new toy.

JD, you'll love the flexibility of monorail cameras! I have the same model as you do and love shooting with it. It's an expensive proposition though, negatives are costly. A couple of things for you to consider:

1 - when shooting with a wide angle lens (such as the 90mm Spuer Angulon by Schneider) make sure you don't have a lot of rail hanging in front of your lens, otherwise you'll do what I did at my last shoot, take the pictures, go home and develop only to see that the end of the rail shows on the bottom of some negatives! :blushing: